Failed to load licensing components. Please Repair / Re-Install Dixit . DO NOT UNINSTALL MODULE!

Both the Rural Energy Agency (REA) and the Rural Energy Fund (REF) are governed by the Rural Energy Board (REB). The Rural Energy Board consist of the following members:

  • a representative from the Ministry responsible for energy;
  • a representative from the Ministry of Finance;
  • a representative from the Ministry responsible for regional administration and local government;
  • a representative of the Private Sector;
  • a representative of the Tanzanian Bankers' Association;
  • a representative of a civic society;
  • a representative of the Development Partners;
  • a representative of consumers.


Subject to the overall direction of the Rural Energy Board (REB), REA is headed by the Director General who is the chief executive officer for the Agency as well as the Rural Energy Fund (REF).

REA has a lean management structure which has five directorates which are headed by Directors of Finance & Resources Mobilization, Human Resources & Administration, Technical Services, Market Development & Technologies and Policy Planning & Research.